A temple that can change your destiny – Brahma Temple of the South

Lord Shiva is called Brahmapureeswara because he changed the fate of Brahma. The legend of this temple is connected to the story of Savitri, where Shiva cuts off the fifth head of Brahma. After losing the fifth head Brahma started out on a pilgrimage to Lord Shiva Temples. During the course of his pilgrimage he visited Tirupattur and installed 12 Shiva Lingams to worship Shiva. Pleased by Brahma’s devotion and on Devi Parvati’s request gave him Darshan. Lord Shiva blessed Brahma that He would have a separate shrine at this temple.  Since Brahma himself had His destiny rewritten here; He should rewrite the destiny of His devotees visiting this temple as instructed by shiva.

Since the fate of Lord Brahma, the Creator, Himself was changed by Lord Shiva at Tirupattur, one can expect a turning point in life by praying at this temple.

 Brahma’s worship here should be done with 36 lamps (representing 27 stars and 9 planets) offering 108 tamarind rice balls. The devotee should walk 9 rounds. All the 12 Lingas worshipped by Brahma are in the temple giving the devotee the benefit of worshipping the Jyotirlingas in a single place.

The 12 Shrines of Shiva

There are 12 Shiv Lingams in the Temple complex, which includes the garden adjacent to the temple. These Shiva Lingams were installed and worshipped by Brahma. Most of these Shiv Lingams are housed in separate shrines, which are situated around the Brahma Theertham. Brahma Teertham is the pond from which Brahma took water for performing puja to Shiva. These 12 shrines of Shiva which comprise the Bramhapureeswar Temple complex are :

  • Brahmapureeswar Presiding Deity
  • Pazhamalai Nathar
  • Pathala Eswarar
  • Thayumanavar
  • Manduga Nathar
  • Ekambareswar
  • Arunachaleswar
  • Kailasa Natha
  • Jambukeshwar
  • Kalathi Natha
  • Sabthagereswar
  • Sudharaneswar

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *